Sunday Night with toe @ Mao Livehouse Shanghai

The past Sunday night I went to Mao for my favorite post rock band: toe, from Japan.  I didn’t start to listen to post rock until earlier this year, but I was immediately sucked into it because of the moody sound and beautiful plays with instrument.  I started with classic post rock bands like Explosions in the Sky.  

But toe is very different.  Their music is more upbeat, and brings more of a fluctuation of emotions.  The double guitar is amazing, and the drummer brings in the explosions of emotion at right points.  This proves to be even more awesome live, when they add in more sound effects, gestures, and even screams to exaggerate the ups and downs.  All in all best post rock performance I’ve seen so far!  

This is one of my favorite song: good bye グッドバイ 

This is the video I took:

http://player.vimeo.com/video/16245745?portrait=0

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

