Good read: How will you measure your life

Today, my dearest friend Jenny sent me this article written by Professor Christensen from HBS, on "how to measure your life".  He asked three questions in the article, which I think is ultimately what everyone would want to know: "First, how can I be sure that I’ll be happy in my career? Second, how can I be sure that my relationships with my spouse and my family become an enduring source of happiness? Third, how can I be sure I’ll stay out of jail?"

I LOVE the answer he gave for the first one: "powerful motivator in our lives isn’t money; it’s the opportunity to learn, grow in responsibilities, contribute to others, and be recognized for achievements".  Therefore the goal really is to manage these motivators in our job, and make sure they keep generating happiness for us.

For the second question, he said we need to "create a strategy for our life", then "allocate resources" according to the strategy, and also "create a culture" in our family.  I wish my parents had known that… well, but it might not be too late for me to focus on my own life strategy and live accordingly.  Especially the "create culture at family" part, it sounds like some startup thingy but it's true that more than 2 people form a culture, and family is usually more than 2 people… 

To his third question, he gave an example of how he stuck to his principal and gave up playing a championship basketball game on Sunday.  "It’s easier to hold to your principles 100% of the time than it is to hold to them 98% of the time".  This is so insightful!  We've all broken a lot of rules of ourselves and made exception for various excuses.  But really it would just go downhill from there.  I guess I'm not so worried about staying out of jail, but more about sticking to my principal and do the right thing always.  

I don't know how my other 359 classmates at Anderson feel, but in general I feel less happy after graduating from business school.

In part it's because of some of my own personal and family issues happening, but in general, I felt I was lost.  I had a goal when I went to business school, but a lot of things changed in the 2 years I was there.  I did not follow the path I was thinking of taking, but chose a more risky and non-traditional path.  As much as I like what I'm doing now, and I enjoy the learning experience, I couldn't help but feel unhappy sometimes.

That's when I started to go to church group and tried to study GOD's statements.  I felt I needed a purpose for my life.  It should be greater than just making a good salary, marrying a good guy, and having a happy family.  It's about leaving my mark in this world, changing things that are not right, helping people, or creating exciting new shit.  And GOD has put that purpose in me, the day I was born. 

So this is definitely a recommended read, if you haven't found the purpose of your life yet.  I hope this is as resonating to you as it is to me.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

